National Breastfeeding Awareness Week 2012

Breastfeeding symbol

Every year in the UK we have National Breastfeeding Awareness Week, generally held in the last week of June (this year it is 24th-30th).  The government withdrew funding for this event a couple of years ago but many breastfeeding support groups and other public health and breastfeeding organisations still put on events.  The Association of Breastfeeding Mothers have a page where people can post things that are happening in their local area.

Full Circle Breastfeeding Support are collaborating with Latch On and other mum-to-mum support groups in the South Wales area to create breastfeeding walls of love featuring contributions from people who love breastfeeding and their reason/s why.  These displays are then going to be taken around prominent venues in the local community raising awareness and spreading the love.  We think it’s a lovely idea but to make it really effective we want as many contributions as possible.

All you have to do to take part is complete this sentence “I ❤ (I mean heart but I can’t do it properly on here sorry) breastfeeding … “

We have already received some gorgeous ones including one from a dad of a breastfed baby who wasn’t keen on breastfeeding at first and one from a mum whose premature baby was seriously ill and donated breastmilk saved his life.  We have also had pictures and other innovative responses.  Please feel free to be as creative or as straight-to-the point as you like.  All submissions will be gratefully received.

I will post photographs of the walls of love during BAW.

All you need to do it post your responses in the comments section below or via twitter @patchwork_mama.

Thank you!!!!!!!

* ALSO for all of you breastfeeding lovers in the South Wales area (or further afield if you fancy a road trip) there is going to be a breastfeeding morning picnic and mass feed (babies permitting) in RoathPark, Cardiff (by the rose garden or in the cafe if it rains) at 10am on Sunday 24th of June.  Look for the Full Circle and Latch On banners (and hopefully the hoardes of people). The walls of love will be on display too and you can add to them in person.  It would be great to get as many people as possible there so feel free to spread the word.

About TheStoryWitch

Jessica M Starr is a storyweaver, poet and wildwoman. She lives at the foot of a mountain in Wales, UK, with her musician husband and their two unschooled children. She writes for those who know that magic is real and that stories can change the world.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in News and Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Laura Fergusson

    because it’s cwtchy, it’s instant and available wherever you are, whenever your baby wants it – and it’s free!

  2. I ❤ breastfeeding because it was the one think that kept me close and created a bond with my son when I was suffering with post-natal depression.

  3. Shelley sanderson

    I ❤ breastfeeding coz my 11 month old loves it and it's good for her
    ..and it's free and helps me loose weight and get more zzzzz's – what's not to love!

  4. Thank you so much all for leaving such lovely comments. They will be added to the wall of love! I’ll post some pictures up throughout Breastfeeding Week. xxx

  5. I love breastfeeding my Son because i know its the best start in life i could possibly give him, after a difficult pregnancy of being told my baby had a serious condition and then later on that he didn’t i just wanted to protect him as much as i could. Breastfeeding made me feel as though i was protecting him, it was difficult to start with but we didn’t give up and now we are 6months down the line and we are still going strong 😀

  6. I love breastfeeding because it’s what is best for baby, and it’s lovely time for cwtches 🙂

  7. Gabriele Niklaus

    It is normal and natural and enjoyable and it is made by our bodies to feed our babies.

  8. Woops, many apologies – I can see from your facebook page that there is something organised in Caerphilly which my sister has already told me about but I hadn’t made the connection. I will try to attend if nothing happens in Cardiff 🙂

  9. and that comment makes no sense as my first comment didn’t send! Doh! I was asking about breastfeeding events for the world breastfeeding week but have found the answer on your facebook. 🙂

    • patchworkmama

      Haha! No worries Donna. I can see you’ve joined our facebook page 🙂 I’m going to update the blog with the Big Latch On details now too!!

  1. Pingback: Happy Breastfeeding Awareness Week! | Optimum health & wellbeing

Have your say.

